Plaster Casted Upper Ventral Region

Yes, that means boobs.

 

As an artist- sometimes you need help, and if you have a wicked idea that involves body parts, well, you kind of need to go on a search for willing appendage donors (is a breast an appendage? never mind – you know what I mean)

So Friday after school I was an appendage donor and had my breasts plaster casted, for my friend Dana’s homework assignment on prosthetics. I am really excited to see the final project, as there will be roughly 25 sets of breasts casted for this project. You should be excited too- as I think her assignment will blow the gallery show out of the water.

So to spread the good karma, and to satisfy my curiosity- we set up shop in the wheelchair washroom and got to work. And because I am way to curious for my own good- I requested another student (Props go to Lucy) to film and help me create a stop-motion film documenting the process. Because hey, it’s not everyday you get to create art with your rack, am I right ?

I found the whole experience relatable to a tea party with friends, it was very casual, and had lots of laughter, the only thing missing was the tea. Weirdly enough, this was something that I truly needed since my mental health has decided to play dangerously with my well being these days. It was also a nice pick me up- it’s nice to be part of someone’s art project. Even if it is just your breasts. I like to help out where I can, what can I say?

I think the practice of being a nude model for KIAC drawing nights helped with some of my body confidence/acceptance issues- and to be honest- this whole getting naked for art thing is quite liberating! To be able to find the beauty in someone else’s, as well as your own body, is such a wonderful thing.

I look forward to creating this stop-motion film. I feel like the title should be something along the lines of “They’re Just Boobs”

Here are some quick iPhone photos of the “tea party in the washroom”

Here are the “Facebook Proof Photos”

1606995_10201777170935437_1414335852_n 1465379_10201777171375448_601078022_n

 

And then here is a shot of my plaster casted upper ventral region.

image-4

Oh- The things we do for art.

Thanks for the opportunity Dana.

 

One thought on “Plaster Casted Upper Ventral Region

  1. So glad that you’re getting into modelling, for drawing and other projects–in my experience, there is no better way to truly accept your body than to make yourself vulnerable to artists’ eyes and realise that they see the beauty of your form, not the minute imperfections upon which you sometimes judge yourself. Did me a world of good. I hope you find similar enlightenment.
    Gilbert sends purrs and sheds in your general direction. We both miss you.
    Cecilia

Leave a Reply

